European Academy of Sociology - Fellows

Prof. Dr. Werner Raub

Department of Sociology/ICS
Utrecht University
Padualaan 14
3584 CH Utrecht


Prof. Dr. Werner Raub

Fellow of the European Academy of Sociology


Werner Raub is a Professor of Sociology at Utrecht University and the Interuniversity Center for Social Science Theory and Methodology (ICS). His research and teaching cover a variety of areas in theoretical sociology, applications of mathematical models in sociology as well as other social sciences, organization studies and economic sociology, experimental research, and topics on the interface of analytical social science and philosophy. He has contributed to establishing choice-based models as a paradigm in modern sociology, including but not restricted to rational choice models and applications of game-theoretic models and game-theoretically inspired reasoning. Advocating the use of complementary research designs such as surveys, experiments, and quasi-experimental designs for repeated tests of the same hypotheses and implementing this approach in empirical studies, he has contributed to integrating formal theoretical models and quantitative empirical research in sociology. Quite some of his work focuses on voluntary cooperation and on mechanisms that support voluntary cooperation in social and economic life. He is specifically interested in how social networks affect voluntary cooperation.

From 1996 to 2011, Raub served as Research Director of the Department of Sociology of Utrecht University and as a member and Chairman of the National Board of the ICS. He served as Dean of Social and Behavioural Sciences of Utrecht University from 2012 to 2017. Visiting appointments: University of Chicago (1992 and 1998), University of Berne (1994 and 1997), Center for Study of Public Choice, George Mason University, Fairfax, VA (1990), Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities and Social Sciences (NIAS; 2001/2). He has been a Senior Research Fellow of Nuffield College, University of Oxford (2010-2017) and is an elected member of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.